NOC 2022 Update – How will it impact Express Entry eligibility
Express Entry Eligibility

National Occupation Classification (NOC) 2021 is set for execution. Announcements on how it will impact the eligibility criterion and brings, with it, some severe alterations. Sixteen occupations will enjoy Express Entry eligibility, while three will no longer have the prerogative.

NOC 2021 will take effect from November 2022, the NOC 2021.

NOC 2016 is currently in effect and is used by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to establish the eligibility of occupations for its temporary and permanent immigration programs IRCC.

ESDC (Employment and Social Development Canada and Statistics Canada)) is responsible for updating the NOC every ten years. New terminology and a revised classification structure introduced in NOC 2021 will impact the IRCC programs.

The 16 occupations eligible for Express Entry under NOC2021 will be:

  • Administrators of payroll;
  • Dental assistants & Assistants in the dental laboratory;
  • Patient service associates, nurse aides, and orderlies;
  • Technical and pharmaceutical assistants in pharmacy;
  • Assistants to teachers in elementary and secondary schools;
  • Bailiffs and sheriffs;
  • Officers of the correctional system;
  • Regulatory and by-law enforcement officers;
  • Electrologists, estheticians, and other related professions;
  • Residential and commercial installers and service providers;
  • Fumigators and pest controllers;
  • Other services and repairers;
  • Drivers of transport trucks;
  • Drivers of buses, subways, and different modes of public transportation
  • Operators of heavy machinery; and
  • Inspectors and assemblers of aircraft.

The three occupations that lose the coveted spot of eligibility are:

  • Other performers
  • Recreation, sport, and fitness program leaders and instructors; and
  • Dressmakers, Tailors, milliners, and furriers

The above three occupations may be eligible for programs that have broader occupational eligibility criteria, such as the Provincial Nominee Program’s various streams.

Another change announced under the NOC 2021 is the change of the current four-category “skill level” framework to a six-category system. The new approach specifies the degree of TEER (Training, Education, Experience, and Responsibilities) that each occupation requires.

There were four skill levels in the previous NOC:

  • NOC A – jobs that typically required a university degree
  • NOC B – jobs in the skilled trades or a college diploma
  • NOC C – jobs that required intermediate skills or job-specific training
  • NOC D – jobs that required on-the-job training.

The IRCC Executive Committee concluded in September 2020 to implement the updated TEER structure as follows:

NOC 2016NOC 2021
Skill Type 0TEER 0
Skill Type ATEER 1
Skill Type BTEER 2
Skill Type CTEER 3
Skill Type DTEER 4

NOC 2021 will classify occupations using a five-tier hierarchical system. Six category TEER system has been defined: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. Hence, now occupations will be coded with a five-digit system.


  • Management jobs.


  • Obtaining a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctorate from a university; or
  • Several years of experience in a TEER category two occupations (when applicable).


  • Completion of a two- to the three-year post-secondary education program at a community college, institute of technology, or CÉGEP; or
  • Completing an apprenticeship program lasting between two and five years; or
  • Supervisory or substantial safety responsibility (police officers and firefighters); or
  • Experience with TEER category three occupations (if applicable).


  • Completion of a less than two-year post-secondary education program at a community college, institute of technology, or CÉGEP; or
  • An apprenticeship of fewer than two years; or
  • With a minimum of six months of work experience, training courses, or specific training, and a high school diploma.
  • Experience with TEER category four occupations (if applicable).


  • Secondary school completion; or
  • With some secondary school education recommended few weeks of on-the-job training; or
  • At least a few years of experience in an occupation within TEER category 5 (if applicable


  • Demonstration of short works and no formal education required.

According to Statistics, in Canada, the replacement of the skill type model by the TEER system is due to two main reasons:

  1. The TEER system tries to clarify what degree of education and experience is required to work in a specific occupation.
  2. The skill type model artificially divides employment into low- and high-skilled categories.

The goal of implementing TEER is to provide stakeholders with a better understanding of the skills needed for each occupation.

Statista Canada’s Online NOC 2021 tool allows you to compare your eligibility against the current NOC and NOC 2021.